North America
  • North America
  • Europe
  • United Kingdom
  • Asia & Pacific
  • Australia
  • South America
  • Africa

How to set the default version of the communication and security clients for Windows

Release Time
06/01/2020
Views
441 times


  • Open Endpoint Manager
     
  • Click ‘Settings’ > ‘Portal Setup’ > ‘Client Settings’
     
  • Click the ‘Windows’ tab


 

Overview

  • The ‘default’ version of a client is the one that will be installed on endpoints when you run an install task via Endpoint Manager.
     
  • This is set to always fetch and install the latest version unless you specify otherwise.
     
  • Once you have chosen the default version, it will be pre-selected in the following wizards and interfaces:
     
    • Device Enrollment - 'Devices' > 'Device List' > 'Enroll Device'
       
    • Bulk installations - 'Devices' > 'Bulk Installation Package'
       
    • Update additional packages - 'Devices' > 'Device List' > select a Windows profile >  'Install or Update Packages' > 'Update Additional Packages'
       
    • ‘Updates’ section of a Windows profile - 'Configuration Templates' > 'Profiles' > open a Windows profile > 'Updates' profile section
       
  • You can also specify whether admins can change the client version when they perform one the activities listed above.
     
    • Leave the 'Enable change...' options disabled to prevent admins from installing a different version to the one you selected.
       
    • This avoids the possibility of admins installing older or incompatible versions of the clients.

Step-by-step process

  • Open Endpoint Manager
     
  • Click ‘Settings’ > ‘Portal Set-Up’
     
  • Select ‘Client Settings’ > ‘Windows’
     
  • You can choose the default version of the communication client (CC) and / or  Comodo Client Security (CCS)
     
  • The rest of this article explains how to configure the default version of CC. The configuration options are similar for CCS too.

Communication Client

  • Open the 'Communication Client' tab
     
  • Click ‘Edit’ to change the settings:


 

Configure the following settings:

  • Default Client Version – Choose which version of the agent should be installed or updated on managed endpoints. You can choose the version from the drop down:




    • Endpoint Manager will present the default version you choose here in the installation interfaces listed above.
       
    • The default, if you change nothing, is 'Latest - <version number>' (so Endpoint Manager will always present the most up-to-date version).
       
  • ‘Enable change of version while…’ – Specify whether admins can install/update to a different version than you one you selected:
     
  • Enable change of version while installing’ – affects:
     
    • Device Enrollment - 'Devices' > 'Device List' > 'Enroll Device'
       
    • Bulk installations - 'Devices' > 'Bulk Installation Package'
       
  • Enable change of version while updating’ – affects:
     
    • Update additional packages - 'Devices' > 'Device List' > select a Windows device >  'Install or Update Packages' > 'Update Additional Packages'
       
    • ‘Updates’ section of a Windows profile - 'Configuration Templates' > 'Profiles' > open a Windows profile > 'Updates' profile section

The rest of this article shows the various places where the default client version is shown.

Device Enrollment

  • Click 'Devices' > 'Device List' > 'Enroll Device'
     
  • The default client is shown as follows:
     




Bulk Installations

  • Click 'Devices' > ‘Bulk Installation Package’
     
  • The default client is shown as follows:


 

Update additional packages

  • 'Devices' > 'Device List' > select a Windows profile > 'Install or Update Packages' > 'Update Additional Packages'
     
  • The default client version is shown as follows:
     




‘Updates’ section of a Windows profile

  • Click 'Configuration Templates' > 'Profiles' > open a Windows profile > 'Updates' profile section
     
  • The default client is shown as follows: